Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Kickoff!

Posted by msdon9 on February 25, 2010

So today was my birthday. I turned 31 (and, yes… I’m freaking). I had the chance to meet my mentor, our coaches, and a bunch of my Team Challenge teammates tonight at our Kickoff Party at Bertucci’s in Melville. I was amazed at how friendly everyone was. Well, I guess not amazed, but really happy that everyone seems so cool. I have a feeling that I’m going to make some awesome new friends during the next several weeks and I’m glad that we all have something in common, the goal that we’re working towards. While I don’t have much to update in the “training” department, I can say that I’m really eager to get started! The weather on Long Island has been less than desirable in the last few days or so, but I did manage to squeeze in a 3 mile  jog in Babylon Village over the weekend.  I also returned to the Monday night Pilates class that I used to go to all the time with my favorite instructor, Carol. I plan on spending this coming weekend with some old friends  in Syracuse, so I don’t know how much “training” will happen there. In fact, I expect there to be a whole lot of eating of bad food… (including something called a Dome Dog. And believe me, you don’t want to know…)

Thanks to everyone who has started following my blog. Thanks especially to those of you who have made a donation. Plans for the Late St. Patrick’s Day party at Lily Flanagans are in the works, and it seems like a really cool crew of people will be attending! If you’d like to learn more, please click the “events” link above. In the meantime, here’s a thought for you:

Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence.
Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent.
Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb.
Education will not the world is full of educated derelicts.
Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.
The slogan, ‘Press on,’ has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race
– Calvin Coolidge

Leave a Reply

 
