Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Training Week 1 DONE!

Posted by msdon9 on March 6, 2010

We must have looked like a bunch of crazy people stretching on the sidewalk in Farmingdale!

This morning I met up with my teammates at 8:30am in front of The Runner’s Edge in Farmingdale. After some announcements and stretching, we began our first training run through the village and into the residential area and back. Although it’s generally a nice day out today, it was about 35 degrees this morning. Luckily I had a clean UnderArmor turtleneck ready to go! The run was only about 20 minutes, which was fine really… but I’m definitely looking forward to doing a little bit more next week.  I hope that by sticking to the training schedule I’ve been given I’ll be able to build my endurance a little bit and actually run some decently long distances without stopping. The only thing hard about today was a low grade “uphill” that came about 1/4 mile into the run. No biggie – I enjoyed that downhill on the way back.

I also found a running buddy! We were moving at a similar pace, which was great! I have a feeling that I’m going to make some awesome friends with this team.

Once we got back to the store, bagels and hot coffee were waiting for us! I chowed down a bagel like it was nobody’s business. NICE WORK! I just derailed my morning workout and then some, but it was delicious! Once everybody started rolling back into the store, Bob Cook, the owner, began a short discussion about choosing the best kind of running shoe for your foot and your running style. Then he and our coach Loretta talked about the kinds of clothing we might want to consider wearing once we start training more. I found it to be a really helpful presentation because, as someone who knows very little about running, I also knew practically nothing about clothing and gear. I didn’t leave the store empty handed! The Team Challenge tee shirt was gratis for joining the team, but I did get some new running pants, a pair of sunglasses (because running with my $300 Coach sunglasses is probably a bad idea), a few pairs of non-cotton socks, and something called “Body Glide” (hehe) which I’m sure I’ll have some fun talking about once I start running more.

On my way to becoming a legitimate runner, or at least looking like one!

On tap for this week is two days of running an easy 30 minutes and a day of cross training. I’m following the “beginner” running schedule, which is good for me because I have no clue what I’m doing and I don’t want to get hurt.

Thanks to all who are reading and keeping tabs on my progress. Please feel free to leave a comment and let me know you’ve been here. Also, don’t forget to RSVP for the Late St. Patrick’s Day Celebration that I planned for March 27th. I’m hoping that this party will be a fun way to get friends and family memebers involved in raising money for the CCFA.

4 Responses to “Training Week 1 DONE!”

  1. Mark Jackett said

    Way to go, Mary! Remember to use your arms on those uphills, and let it go on the downhills. You don’t to hold back on the downhill because it’s bad for your joints; just let gravity take you.

  2. Stacey Clark said

    I dont think I even thought about how crazy we missed have looked!!! Crazy and on a mission. Go Mary!!!

  3. jen lipack said

    Amazing site! Go mary!

  4. Sarah Trexler said

    Go, Mary, Go!!! Don’t worry about chowing down that bagel… The first half-hour after a workout is when your body is craving carbs and protein the most, to restore what has been depleted in your muscles! Your body was telling you it was time to eat because it was. Hooray! I’m so proud of you, girl!

Leave a Reply

 
