Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

3/13 Rainy Run!

Posted by msdon9 on March 13, 2010

Wow. Just, wow. Today was definitely an intense wake-up call to what life would be like on Marathon Day if it decides to rain. Since I knew way in advance that all of our training runs would be rain or shine, I was sure to wake up extra early today to fill myself up with some hot coffee before braving the elements. As soon as I hit the Southern State Parkway and started hydroplaning all over the place, all I really wanted to do was turn around, go home, and go promptly back to bed. But as soon as I saw the smiling (but nervous) faces of my teammates at the CCFA office prior to our run, I knew that the day was going to be well worth it. If anything, it was a test of dedication. I’m not even kidding, the rain was THAT bad… According to weather.com, there are FIVE special weather statements for today, including a High Wind Advisory and a Flood Watch.

I’m not quite 100% sure on the actual distance, but I think our coach Dave said that one lap around our course was about a mile and a half. If that’s the case, I ran about 3 miles in just over 1/2 hour. Although I felt I could have done a little more, I’m making an effort to stick to the schedule that was given to us so that way I don’t get hurt. One of the issues I’m facing right now is some pain in my right hip, right about where the waistband of my jeans sit. It’s not anything major, but I notice it after every outdoor run. My mentor, Beth, gave me some ideas for stretches to help work this out. Frankly, I’m thinking about going to the gym today just to sit in the whirlpool and hope that the hot water helps.

Unless my distance, time ratio is warped… I’m running faster outside than I am inside. I’m going to make a concerted effort to get an application for my phone to track it a little better.

So, after my 2nd team run, I’m feeling pretty good!

Don’t forget! My Late St. Patrick’s Day Celebration fundraiser will be at Lily Flanagans in Babylon on March 27th from 12-4pm. $45 unlimited open bar, buffet, and raffles! I can’t wait!

As always, thanks for your interest in reading my blog!

One Response to “3/13 Rainy Run!”

  1. NICE PONCHO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
