Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

I did something today I’ve never done before: 6 miles!!!

Posted by msdon9 on April 3, 2010

It’s hard to believe that our first group training run was a little under a month ago. We ran about 20 minutes through the streets of Farmingdale and returned. I felt like I accomplished something (and rewarded myself by chowing down a bagel like it was nobody’s business). Now that I look back on that day I’m amazed at how proud of myself I was for how little I actually did. I imagine I’ll feel the same way about today next month when we’re scheduled to run 8 miles, then 10, and then 13.1 in Boston on June 27th.

Our first post-training workshop at the Runner's Edge in Farmingdale: 3/7

Today was beautiful from the start! I woke up a little later than I wanted to, but I had time to choke down a bowl of Cheerios before I made my way to Eisenhower Park. We were told that the plan for the day was to run for about an hour, or four laps around the course (a little over 6 miles). In the past few weeks, I got myself to the point where I was running my “easy” half hours without stopping. I had no idea what I would be able to do today, but I don’t think I imagined running the whole thing.

Well, I did.

Frankly, I’m amazed! Everyone said that the training schedule works if you follow it. I have to admit that I haven’t been too impressed with my speed during my weekday 30 minute runs, but I suppose that the mantra, “slow and steady finishes the race,” is true. From doing a little bit of research, I’ve learned that the weekly “long run” is one of the most important components of training for a distance run because it is when important physiological and psychological adaptations occur. As each weekly run bumps us up a little more, I feel myself becoming stronger and aching less.

Coach Dave analyzing our runs

Probably the best part of today’s training was the fact that one of our amazing coaches, Dave, filmed us as we were running so that he could offer us some specific feedback of what we could do to improve our stride and our speed. When we got back to the CCFA office to watch the films, I was grateful to be able to “see” myself running. I look like an idiot! Actually, I don’t… but I now know that I need to strengthen my leg muscles so I can “push off” with my rear foot a little more. I never would have known that if I hadn’t been able to watch myself running in slow motion to see what I’m doing.

So I suppose that’s about it for my update this week. I’m actually going to head to the gym now to do some basic weight training because I’m planning on doing only a simple cross train for tomorrow (Easter Sunday) and resting Monday. My weekly runs bump up to 45 minutes on Tuesday and Wednesday. The “easy” part of our training is coming to an end and things will start to get “not so easy.”

Thanks again for reading my blog and keeping up with my progress. I feel great! [Actually, I don’t feel great… I feel like my body hurts all over and I can’t wait to take a hot bath, an Aleve, and a nap, but I know that each week brings me closer to my goal.] I’m ALMOST there for my fundraising goal… so if you haven’t yet donated, please consider doing so by clicking the link above.

Oh, and for those of you who have already donated or attended my benefit last week, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!! I won a prize today for showing great effort in fundraising for the month of March. I couldn’t have done it without the generosity of friends and family!

Have a wonderful Easter!

Leave a Reply

 
