Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

How my thinking has changed, and other stories of progress

Posted by msdon9 on April 25, 2010

A Team Challenge LI group shot with our honored hero, Kaitlyn, and her family.

Yesterday’s schedule said “easy 6 miles.” Not very long ago, I never would have considered 6 miles easy, or 5, or 4, or even 1. There were a few different variables that made the beginning of yesterday’s run a little difficult for me, but once I passed the first 3 1/2 miles and caught my “second wind,” I was able to finish the last 2 1/2 with ease. Yesterday was also the first day that I ran with my new iPod touch and the Nike+ iPod program. My pace is just over 11 minutes a mile, which is not fast, but not slow either… so I’m happy.

We ran yesterday in honor of Kaitlyn, a 14 year old girl who has such a difficult battle with Crohn’s disease that she is unable to even go to school. Kaitlyn’s story inspired me for the first time when I attended the informational meeting about Team Challenge back in February. Having her and her family present with us for training yesterday was very special for me because it made me realize that people like her really depend on the efforts of groups like Team Challenge.

I also think that our group bonded a little bit more after these past few weeks. I’ve been getting to know my teammates more, and we’ve been sharing stories of our own battles with IBD. It makes having to wake up at 6:45am on a Saturday morning to train with the group something to look forward to. I’ll tell you right now that I never woke up that early on a Saturday feeling that enthusiastic about going to cheerleading practice. Never in a million years!

Next week I’ll be running my very first race, the Long Island Marathon Festival of Races 10K. I’m nervous and excited at the first time! I’m going to have to run almost double that on June 27th? Will I be ready? I sure hope so…

A bunch of pictures were taken at yesterday’s training. Enjoy!

Getting started with warmups.

Leg pushes... I used to do this at cheerleading practice, haha

Snapped at the finish of the 6 miles. Still smiling!

Leave a Reply

 
