Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Easy, Not So Easy, and Race Pace

Posted by msdon9 on May 12, 2010

About a month or so ago, I thought that it was my job to try and run the full 30 minutes or 45 minutes, whatever it said on my training schedule. I thought that taking a walk break was kind of like a sign of weakness, wimping out.

I went out and bought myself a runners’ magazine from the supermarket. I read it (mostly) cover-to-cover while I was sitting at the beach last weekend, and I found out that my theory about walk breaks was really wrong.

Still, I feel weird taking them during a not-so-easy run. While I don’t want to risk getting an injury, there are times when I slow down and I think, “I could keep going if I had to… I could make this work.” But – I slow down, I take a sip of water, I catch my breath. Then, as soon as I feel like I’ve been walking for “too long” (ironically, usually less than 2 minutes or so) I pick up the pace again.

I went to the gym tonight and ran on the treadmill. The weather has been cold and rainy, and it was getting to be late in the evening. I didn’t want to run outside. I find that running on the treadmill now is REALLY boring. Unless there is something moderately interesting on the TV in front of me that I can at least try to read the closed-captioning for, I find myself zoning out on the oddest focal points (someone’s hat, a window, etc.)

Today was supposed to be a “not-so-easy” run. I allowed myself some time to warm up and cool down with a slow-ish walk. When I was finished after exactly 45 minutes – my average speed (according to the treadmill) was 4.75mph. I ran a little over 3.5 miles. I felt like that was slow.

When I was running the 10K, I didn’t really stop for a significant walk break until I hit 4.5 miles or so.  What kept me going? Adrenaline? The rush of race day? That really must have been it, because after 1 mile on the treadmill today I was ready to walk!

Hopefully the weather will be nice enough tomorrow where I can take my run outside again!

Oh, and here’s what I learned so far about my diet and my workouts:

  • Under no circumstances can I eat yogurt or have any dairy on the day of a run!
  • Gu is so much tastier than Power Bar Gels!
  • Running on the treadmill is boring.
  • I prefer to run alone and listen to music than run with somebody next to me. I tire out easier when I’m struggling to keep up with somebody who has a slightly quicker pace than me.

And that’s it for now! I’ll try to update on Saturday afternoon after 7 miles “not-so-easy”

One Response to “Easy, Not So Easy, and Race Pace”

  1. Sarah Trexler said

    Go, Mary, Go!!! I’m so proud of you, girl. Keep on kicking ass!

Leave a Reply

 
