Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Memorial Day Weekend

Posted by msdon9 on May 31, 2010

Never forget those who died fighting for our freedom!

Something weird happened to me on Friday of this week. I had gone to the gym to lift weights, and I hopped onto the treadmill afterward in the hopes of running a quick 20 minutes or so. Unfortunately my right leg started hurting BADLY! I didn’t know what was going on, so I slowed down to a brisk walk and eventually a “stroll.” After I stepped off the treadmill, I was in A LOT of pain! It didn’t feel like muscular pain; instead it felt more like a very uncomfortable tingle. Going down the stairs hurt because putting pressure on my right leg sent shooting pains up to my hip, and driving home was no picnic either! After I came home, I tried to do a little self-diagnosis online. The only thing that I was able to come up with that somewhat matched my symptoms was either Sciatica or Piriformis Syndrome. I figured that it would behoove me to try to make an appointment with a chiropractor to get it checked out, but because it was Friday night on the brink of Memorial Day Weekend, no such luck. An ice pack and some Aleve was able to numb the pain for the night, but I was still in somewhat bad shape on Saturday morning for my training run with Team Challenge. Now I haven’t missed a training run yet, and I didn’t want to miss this week despite how I felt…so I was at Eisenhower Park bright and early on Saturday morning, albeit limping slightly, ready to do whatever I needed to do to get through the morning. Thankfully Loretta, one of our amazing coaches, gave me some good advice about what was likely going on with my body and what I should do until I can get into the chiropractor. I managed to run a little over a mile, but then I started to feel a lot of pain again, so I walked the other four.

I must admit that this little injury took the wind out of my sails a little bit. I felt so pumped up after running 10 miles last weekend in Farmingdale that I was really ready to rock out a “not-so-easy” six at Eisenhower Park. But… I did enjoy walking with my teammate Jen, especially as there was a Marine Helicopter show going on in the park that we were able to catch a little bit of as we were making our way around the course!

I “rested” yesterday (meaning that I didn’t run or go to the gym, but spent the day in Hampton Bays celebrating my best friend’s little sister’s 21st birthday). Today I challenged myself to just slightly under four miles… I jogged all the way up Deer Park Avenue and into North Babylon, catching the North Babylon Memorial Day Parade along the way! It was very hot (the temperature was around 75 degrees as I left), but it was a great run for me. I didn’t go that fast, but I was able to jog most of the way without feeling any serious pain. I still plan on visiting the doctor as soon as I can, but I was glad to be able to get in a workout without having to stop or walk a whole lot. I did take lots of walk breaks because I wanted to take it easy AND because of the heat, but I was feeling great the whole way!

I’m reminded today of a very brave Marine, a Smithtown graduate, who ran for a very special cause just a few weeks ago. Sgt. Evan Van Nostrand ran 13.1 miles in combat boots, uniform pants, AND while carrying a 40lb. pack on his back for Hope For The Warriors. He’s currently training for the Marine Corps Marathon, and I know he’ll do an amazing job with that, too! Despite the fact that Evan was never a student in one of my classes, I was lucky to know him in school.

We all have our reasons for challenging ourselves in training for half marathons and marathons. Some are touched by the personal struggles of close friends or loved ones. Some are battling illnesses themselves, and running is a symbol of the fight for a cure. Some like the idea of raising money and awareness for a good cause. Some do it because someone once told them that they couldn’t, or because they once told themselves that they couldn’t. Either way, as my very own first 13.1 mile race comes in less than a month, I can safely say that this has been a very inspiring and life-changing experience for me so far!

Leave a Reply

 
