Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

On the DL

Posted by msdon9 on June 6, 2010

So it turns out that I was right about my injury! Not that this is an exciting thing, but at least I know what is going on so I can take steps to get it checked out.

I went to see Dr. Lembo to discuss how I have been feeling. He is a chiropractor based in Farmingdale, NY that is certified in Active Release Therapy, and he came highly recommended from many of the Team Challenge people. In fact, just a few weeks ago he came to speak to us before one of our runs to tell us about common injuries that runners face. Anywho… after my initial visit with Dr. Lembo, I learned that what was happening to me was a trifecta of Piriformis Syndrome, inflammation of the ITB band, and pressure on the Sciatic nerve.

So I took it easy today… what should have been a 10 mile run became about a 4 mile run staggard between lengthy walk breaks. That’s fine… I needed it. Especially after attempting to run the Nissequogue River State Park 5K last night in EXTREME heat and humidity… finishing in 38:30 and wondering what happened to my stamina!

Here’s hoping that I make a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

 
