Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

One Week Till Race Day!

Posted by msdon9 on June 20, 2010

Me on the left with Christina, one of the Wolfpack!

I’m feeling pretty confident, I think! I’ve had some mixed results in the last three long runs, but I know that by the time the morning of June 27th rolls around, I’ll be ready to shoot for 13.1. I think the training will take me halfway there, and the adrenaline the rest. At least that’s what I hope will happen!

The photo to the left was taken by our coach, Dave, at the 10 mile training run we had in Valley Stream just a few weeks back. Unfortunately I had to walk much of that “run” because of my injury, but I was able to “make it look good” for the photo. The following week we ran back at Eisenhower Park. There I was able to run a very comfortable 9 miles without stopping for any walk breaks. After that was over, I felt like I had really accomplished something! Yesterday’s training run at NYIT Westbury was a mixed bag. My injury wasn’t bothering me too much, but I was fighting off some kind of stomach bug that made me feel pretty sluggish. I labored through what should have been an easy 6 miles, walking a little of it.

I got a little choked up at the beginning of this week’s training. Before warmups, we went around the circle and each of us said something really short about why we’re running. It was inspiring to hear what everybody had to say… some were running on behalf of loved ones who are ill, some for themselves, and some simply because they wanted to do something healthy for themselves. For me, I’m running because I never thought I could. And when it was my turn, I could only articulate about that much… For years and years I used Crohn’s Disease as an excuse for why I couldn’t do things, but training for this race has proved to me that there is no room for excuses.

So – next Sunday at this time I will be recovering from my very first 1/2 marathon. I know that for some people this might not be a really big deal, but for me it is.

Leave a Reply

 
