Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Group Mentality: “F*&% this hill” and other stories of motivation

Posted by msdon9 on March 6, 2011

Getting ready to speak in my "Mission Moment"

In training for a half marathon, it’s important to run fairly often to build up speed and endurance. I run 2-3 times a week on my own and then participate in a long run over the weekend. I actually like running alone during the week… while I won’t lie and say that I ALWAYS look forward to hitting the pavement for 30-45 minutes on an otherwise busy, busy Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday, sometimes the run is a great way to play some good music in the headphones, sort out my thoughts, and do a little brainstorming.

I do REALLY love, and look forward to, the Team Challenge training runs that typically come on Saturday mornings. Running with the team is kind of like running with your own personal cheering squad: especially with our little group… it’s not just about friendly waves and words of encouragement – we often SCREAM each others’ names and cheer loudly every chance that we get. It really is such a motivation boost, and the feeling of camaraderie that pumps through my system as we round the miles adds a whole OTHER dimension to why I’m doing this. It’s not JUST about raising money to find a cure – it’s also about being with a group of people who are focused on the same exact goal.

Kathi and Kent - two of my awesome Team Challenge mentees running for a cure in 2011!

In my Mission Moment speech this week, I talked briefly about how difficult it was to live with Crohn’s in my first few years of college. I told a few jokes about being the “phantom pooper” who went from floor to floor to use the restroom so “nobody would ever know it was me.” Ironically… later that morning, a whole bunch of teammates approached me and said things like, “It’s funny…you just described my entire college experience to a ‘T’.” Never before have I been able to share such a humiliating experience with a group of people who could identify with it AND find humor in it, just like I did.

I also think there’s some truth behind the idea that running with a group helps to improve performance. Over the past several months, I’ve noticed that I am less likely to slow down or stop when I am accountable to the person next to me. Likewise…hearing that very same person cheer me on as we’re running up a steep incline (F*&% this hill, as Christina always says…)

One of my favorite running buddies, Christina Lang, keeping me going with laughs and motivation!

I’m providing a link to a YouTube video here (created by our awesome Endurance Manager, Brian) which captures just a tiny bit of what the group runs are all about. There’s even some video footage of me and fellow TC mentor, Jill, speaking a little bit about our own experiences with Crohn’s and Colitis and why we’re one of the 65 or so crazy people who wake up so early in the morning to run around in circles. I hope you get a chance to check out a little bit of it!

I’m also happy to report that my webpage was voted MENTOR FAVORITE by my Team Challenge buddies. Thanks, guys!!!! I can’t wait to drink my bottle of wine 🙂

And thanks to all of you who have been reading and following along with my story. If you have some ideas about topics you’d like for me to discuss as I make my way through training for my second race, please feel free to comment below and offer ’em up! I’m learning a lot from our awesome crop of coaches, fellow mentors, Team members & newbies, and CCFA/Team Challenge staffers. Without them, this really would just be a bunch of crazy people running around in circles…

One Response to “Group Mentality: “F*&% this hill” and other stories of motivation”

  1. Katharina said

    Cool site! You definitely deserve the award for best mentor page this week! Keep up the great work 🙂

    Team Double K

Leave a Reply

 
