Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Truckin’

Posted by msdon9 on April 2, 2011

Wow – so much is going on this week!

First of all, I want to send a great big THANK YOU shoutout to three very important people: my cousin ANITA NORTON, my longtime friend in the cheerleading circuit, LISA WILSON, and my sorority pal LESHA BLAIR for their generous donations to Team Challenge in the past two weeks. If you recall, I said I’d offer a homemade wine & chocolates basket to the next three people who donated $50 or more! But – I’ve decided that I’ve got ONE MORE to give away!

So who wants it?? All you need to do is donate $5o or more by clicking here and a delicious bottle of Long Island wine will be shipped to you, alongside a bunch of chocolate-covered goodies!

Please…. I have to get this chocolate out of my house. I KEEP EATING IT!

My Team Challenge Clothing Sale is also going really well! I have long-sleeved bedazzled Tees and pullover screenprint hooded sweatshirts, both with the Team Challenge logo on them (though the hoodies are EXCLUSIVELY for Team Long Island). Click the “Team Challenge Clothing” link above for more information about those. 40% of the proceeds are being donated back to the charity to fund much needed medical research.

I ran 5 miles today before heading to Mama Clark’s house for our halfway-point team brunch. I missed the brunch last year, but I was so glad that I could attend this year. It was so inspiring to hear so many stories of WHY people are doing this. Around the room, there were people running for their friends, for their spouses, for their sons, daughters, mothers, nieces, and for themselves – to challenge themselves while doing something for a cause, even if they didn’t know someone with Crohn’s and Colitis.

I’m about to leave here and check out a Dance-a-Thon at Stony Brook University hosted by two of my TC mentees, Kent & Kathi! I have a feeling that the event is going to be a tremendous success and I can’t wait to see how it’s going! Tomorrow, Renee is hosting a Sunday Funday open bar party at The Republic in Farmingdale! I also hear that two more mentees, Sandra and Jessica, are planning a bowling party in about a month. I’ll be renting a lane and challenging everyone I know to a game (hint: you will likely beat me…)

Sleeping in on Saturdays is so over-rated. Running in the freezing cold is what it's all about!

Thank you to all of the wonderful friends, family members, and colleagues who have donated to the cause in the 2011 season!

I still have a long way to go to reach my goal. It’s going to take more than running to cross that finish line! Today I re-committed to cross that finish line in Virginia. Please help out if you can! Every donation counts…. $5, $10, $20 – you name it! Each donation is fully tax deductible. I’ll do my part to push my body to cross that finish line… will you help me get there?

Don’t forget – if you’re the next person to donate $50 or more, your next bottle of wine is on me!!

Leave a Reply

 
