Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Napa 2012

Posted by msdon9 on February 17, 2012

After I struggled through the Rock and Roll Las Vegas 1/3 marathon this past December, I thought it might be a good time to take a break from running for a little while. I was hoping for a personal record: to beat my time from the previous two half marathons I had run with Team Challenge. I broke another kind of “record” instead: How many times I needed to stop for a bathroom along the way. After only 5 miles in, it was clear to me that Crohn’s was going to fight me. It did, but it didn’t win. I finished the race in 3:26:21, almost half an hour longer than I’ve run any other race. But I finished.

So, yes… maybe it was a good time to take a break and focus on getting healthy. Or so I thought. But…

Crohn’s Disease doesn’t take a break. As a matter of fact, it’s very much NOT taking a break on me right now. I’ve been battling a flare for the past six months, an ugly one that I will tell you more about in a future post. This is not how I want to live my life anymore. I know that there are at least 1.4 million other Americans that feel the same way I do. The only way we can help ourselves is to find a way to raise the money to fund critical medical research to put a stop to this.

So I humbly ask for your help once again. I’m going to attempt to run the Napa to Sonoma 13.1 race on July 15th, and I’m going to shoot for that personal record. Crohn’s be damned.

I need your help getting there. Will you consider donating once again to this very important cause? I’ll take care of the training and the doctor’s visits. I’ll once again document my journey with this blog so you can see how I’m doing along the way…starting with my first team training in two weeks.

Thanks for reading!

Photobucket

One Response to “Napa 2012”

  1. Sarah said

    Way to go, Mary!! I’m so proud of you – you rock!

Leave a Reply

 
