Mary's Going with Guts!

Track my progress as I train for my next Team Challenge half marathon for the CCFA

Lately…

Posted by msdon9 on March 1, 2012

I was in the last few minutes of my 6th period English class the other day trying to finish a pre-reading lesson on William Shakespeare’s Romeo & Juliet when I had one of those feelings like, “I’m going to puke!” Having dealt with chronic nausea since I was about 11 years old, I managed to take some deep breaths and muster out a weak, “Hey guys, I’m not feeling so well, so we’re just going to stop here for today, ok?” I made my way to the door to get some fresh air, and luckily I saw a colleague walking by at JUST the RIGHT moment! “Hey Evan,” I croaked, “Can you come watch my class for a few minutes?” He must have been able to read what was wrong all over my face, because without question or delay he popped into my classroom and said, “Go.”

I cautiously made my way through the hallway towards the faculty bathroom, almost tip-toeing, as if I was afraid that walking with purpose would trigger a gag reflex. In my mind, I recalled a scene from my own 9th grade year when I barfed all over some guy in the Freshman hallway at St. Anthony’s (sorry, Steve…) I thought about how glad I was to at least be in an empty hallway, where if I HAD to get sick, nobody would see. Even if I couldn’t make it all the way to the bathroom, at least I spared my own 9th grade class the trauma of seeing their teacher toss her cookies in the classroom garbage pail.

Of course when I got to the bathroom and knocked on the door, someone said, “I’m in here.”

Great.

This is what it feels like to have a digestive disorder with a semi-urgent situation… Granted, I’m NOT like this all the time – it’s just when the disease is active. Sometimes it’s hard for me to tell if I have a “stomach flu” or if it’s something else. The good news is that I ended up NOT going Linda Blair on everyone at work (thank you, Jesus, for sparing me the humiliation and everyone else the disgust). I left work early, took a nap, woke up with a 101 fever, and called the doctor. To make a long story short, it’s time for another round of tests to see what, if anything, has changed from my LAST round of tests in 2009.

I’ll keep this blog updated for anyone who is interested in how things progress. I would like to personally thank friends from near and far who have donated to the cause on my behalf. It’s really appreciated, and I want you all to know that.

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

 
